PDA

View Full Version : Black levels after encoding



thebutcher
06-26-2007, 09:49 PM
Hey guys, I'm currently working on my first fanedit of the Evil Dead trilogy with Womble. I've done movie editing from DV with Premiere but this is my first try with footage from a DVD. I followed ADigitalMan's guide for encoding and after importing all my footage in Womble, I noticed that the picture looked a little washed out. The blacks look gray and, maybe it's just me, but I find the picture of the first two Evil Deads a bit soft, as you can see by the screencaps (and I find the transfer fine when I view it on my TV). Am I crazy or did I do something wrong or is it supposed to look like this or?...
If anyone can help, I'd appreciate it! Thanks.


http://img175.imagevenue.com/loc372/th_08450_aodbad_122_372lo.jpg (http://img175.imagevenue.com/img.php?image=08450_aodbad_122_372lo.jpg)http://img158.imagevenue.com/loc681/th_08451_aodgood_122_681lo.jpg (http://img158.imagevenue.com/img.php?image=08451_aodgood_122_681lo.jpg)http://img173.imagevenue.com/loc512/th_08456_dbdbad_122_512lo.jpg (http://img173.imagevenue.com/img.php?image=08456_dbdbad_122_512lo.jpg)http://img137.imagevenue.com/loc458/th_08459_dbdgood_122_458lo.jpg (http://img137.imagevenue.com/img.php?image=08459_dbdgood_122_458lo.jpg)

Aztek463
06-26-2007, 10:14 PM
This happens to me a lot. If you have something (anything) in the window on the left, it washes out the window on the right, I guess, to show the difference between the two tracks. It had me confused for a while, but in reality, there's nothing wrong here.

If you're still in doubt, load the footage into Womble, export it to mpg, and burn it to DVD and watch it. It will be the same (or close to it) as the original transfer.

thebutcher
06-27-2007, 07:05 PM
Thanks, for the reply. Glad to see I didn't do something wrong!